Two-way sync with Google Calendar
It is a kind of magic: create, edit, check, or delete tasks either in the calendar or in the application — everything will be displayed in both of them
With two-way sync, everything works even better. If you create a new task, it will appear in both the app and the calendar. If you delete it, it will disappear from both in an instant. If you put a check mark on the task, it will be either deleted from the calendar or stored in it — configure it as you want. In SingularityApp, you can do lots of other things with tasks. For example, you can change the time or even postpone it to another day — the changes will be applied in the calendar automatically.
Planning your daily schedule in Google Calendar seems to be more convenient? No problem! All tasks created in the calendar will be displayed in SingularityApp.
If you are Basic Account user, you can always connect the calendar you want in iCal format using the web link for free. In the same way, in the web calendar format, you can connect any other "calendar" service.
And for security reasons again, Google will ask for permission to access your account.
Sync mode. Calendar tasks can be managed right in the application. And vice versa, application tasks can be managed in the calendar. This mode is good when you are tired of manual duplicating tasks on two platforms, or you want to work with your tasks (add, check, reschedule or add a description) on the platform that is more convenient for you. Let there be order!
In both modes, calendar events are automatically uploaded 2 months ahead, and recurring events — 2 weeks ahead. So far, the recurring task settings are not synchronized between the app and the calendar (but we are working on it).
When choosing this option, tasks with due date and time from all your SingularityApp projects will be synchronized with the connected calendar. For example, you create a task in the 'Work' project, and it immediately appears in your schedule. If you add a task to the 'Vacation' project, you will find it in your calendar project list among the other tasks.
When using this synchronization option, you need to choose a project in the application where new calendar tasks will be synchronized. Look at the following options:
- "no project" — your tasks go into a common list of tasks in SingularityApp
- a specific project — all your calendar tasks go to the folder of the selected project.
You need to configure these two settings just once. If you want to change them after syncing with the calendar, first you have to turn off the calendar and then synchronize with it again.
If you don't like a mess, this option is for you. Synchronize the desired calendar with a project to link their tasks.
For example, you have a Work project that you want to connect to the work calendar where you store tasks from your manager. So, choose this project in the sync settings of the work calendar and you will see a list of events from the SingularityApp schedule in the selected project.
When the selected project and calendar are connected, then even if you turn off the calendar synchronization, and then turn it on again, all the task links in the calendar and in the application will be restored.
How to change the project for synchronization with the calendar
If you want to change the project for synchronization, you should do it carefully to avoid creating unnecessary task copies.
Let’s imagine that you have changed your mind about synchronizing your work calendar with the Work project and now you want the calendar tasks to go to the Important project. To change the project in the settings, you will have to turn off the calendar synchronization and then turn it on again.
What will happen to the tasks then?
- previously synchronized tasks with the Work project will remain in the same place
- the project Important will have exactly the same tasks because this project is new for the calendar
- in the general list of daily tasks in SingularityApp you will see the same tasks from two projects. It is not a problem — just go to the Work project, filter tasks by the "G Calendar" tag, select and delete them.
If you turn on and off synchronization of a project with different calendars several times, then the same tasks will appear in the calendar:
Let's say, you feel like changing the project again, and want to use the Work project (instead of the Important project) for synchronization with your work calendar. And at the same time, you see that the Important project is more suitable for your personal calendar in Google.
What will happen to the tasks if you change the project again?
- Tasks from Important will remain in the work calendar
- The same tasks will appear in your personal calendar
- In the SingularityApp list of all daily tasks, you will see two copies of each task from the projects, synchronized with different calendars.
If you synchronize one calendar with a specific project, and the other one with all your other projects, then the specific project tasks will not appear in the others. So you can synchronize work tasks with your work calendar, and sync another calendar with all other tasks, and two calendars will not have the same tasks.
Now you want the tasks from the work calendar to go only to the Work project. And you think it would be better to synchronize tasks from all the other projects with your personal calendar so as your workouts, shopping, and other tasks to be displayed in your schedule. Then you need to configure synchronization and, we assure you, that work tasks will never appear in your personal calendar.
If one day you decide to turn off synchronization with your work calendar, then all tasks from the Work project will automatically be added to your personal calendar.
Assign a specific color for each Google calendar to make it easier to navigate the list of synced tasks — just click on the colored circle next to the calendar name in the application.
You can display them as tasks due today, or you may not show them at all.You can display them as tasks due today, or you may not show them at all.
By default, each task that goes from SingularityApp into the calendar lasts 60 minutes, but you can customize the duration for yourself.
What happens to the tasks completed in SingularityApp?
You can choose one of three options:
- you can leave them in the calendar; then the tasks in the application will be completed, and the calendar will display them in the schedule for the day;
- you can also delete them from the calendar; then the task will disappear from the calendar (if you uncheck the task completion box in the application, the event in the calendar will reappear);
- you can mark them with a check mark — a check mark icon will be added to the name of the calendar event (if you cancel the task execution in SingularityApp, the check mark will not be seen in the calendar).
A nice bonus: all calendar tasks are automatically tagged in SingularityApp making them easy to view in bulk. You can edit the tag name.